Safe Spaces on Campus

I have taught undergraduates at Duke since 1997, and now have two children who are in college elsewhere (a junior and a frosh). I attended the campus discussion last Friday and experienced it primarily as a dad–hearing Duke students share wrenching stories of their experience at Duke broke my ‘dad heart.’

On the broader discussion that I will term ‘safe space v freedom of expression‘ I think this dichotomy misses a basic reality. For some students and many faculty and those looking at the college campus from afar, ‘safe space’ connotes intellectual freedom to discuss anything and go where ideas, discourse and logic may lead. This of course is the University at its best. However, for some of our students, the desire for and language of ‘safe space’ is driven because they are afraid. Either for their personal safety, or because they have been told/shown that they don’t belong and aren’t valued at the University itself (or both).

As a Public Policy Prof, I usually have all sorts of ideas about how to address seemingly intractable problems. In this moment, I am unsure, but my ‘dad heart’ remains unsettled.

About Don Taylor
Professor of Public Policy at Duke University (with appointments in Business, Nursing, Community and Family Medicine, and the Duke Clinical Research Institute). I am one of the founding faculty of the Margolis Center for Health Policy, and currently serve as Chair of Duke's University Priorities Committee (UPC). My research focuses on improving care for persons who are dying, and I am co-PI of a CMMI award in Community Based Palliative Care. I teach both undergrads and grad students at Duke. On twitter @donaldhtaylorjr

One Response to Safe Spaces on Campus

  1. mlarkento says:

    Important points worthy of wider discussion.

Leave a Reply

