Avik Roy to guest lecture in my health policy class

This fall is around the 15th time I have taught my undergraduate course, Intro to the U.S. Health Care System. I used to pride myself in students not being able to tell what I really thought. However, after the debate around the ACA, and all the columns I wrote for the News and Observer, public speaking, my book and this blog, it became impossible for students to not know my position on various issues.

For this reason, I now try and have someone with a very different view than myself to come and lecture. I ask them to provide the students with a presentation based on “their view of how the health care system should be.” The point is to make sure that the students are exposed to divergent views, as well as to learn how to consume polemic (I don’t think this is a bad word). We do an entire session section of the course on various Republican health reform alternatives, and I think I can do this fairly and thoroughly, but that is not the same as hearing someone deliver their vision of how the world should be. 

I am pleased to announce that this Fall, Avik Roy will be at Duke Nov. 10-11, Oct 20-21, 2014 in part to lecture to my class. This is particularly timely given the publication of his reform plan last week. Last year Reihan Salam visited, and the fall before that Michael Cannon did so. 

About Don Taylor
Professor of Public Policy at Duke University (with appointments in Business, Nursing, Community and Family Medicine, and the Duke Clinical Research Institute). I am one of the founding faculty of the Margolis Center for Health Policy, and currently serve as Chair of Duke's University Priorities Committee (UPC). My research focuses on improving care for persons who are dying, and I am co-PI of a CMMI award in Community Based Palliative Care. I teach both undergrads and grad students at Duke. On twitter @donaldhtaylorjr

Leave a Reply

