Reihan Salam lecture at Duke: Oct 8

Reihan Salam is going to lecture on the topic: “My Vision for the U.S. Health Care System in 20 Years” from 8:30-9:45am, Tuesday October 8, 2013 in Sanford Room 04. This event is free and open to the public, even though the lecture is being delivered to my undergrad Intro to the U.S. Health Care System course at Duke (hence, the 8:30am start).

Since I have written so much about the Affordable Care Act, been interviewed on television, etc. it is impossible for students to not know where I stand on things (I use to pride myself on it being hard for the students to get a read on me in terms of what I thought) and so I now try and have a person with different views from my own to come and provide a lecture on their vision for the health care system. Reihan has broad interests and has thought and written on myriad policy issues and is a true public intellectual in the best sense of the word. One thing I appreciate about Reihan is I think that he tries to grant people the benefit of the doubt in public discourse and that is a very positive thing, that is rare these days.

We will have some coffee and snacks for Reihan’s talk.

Reihan will also be lecturing in Mike Munger’s Intro to Philosophy/Politics/Economics  course on Monday, October 7, 2013 4:30-5:50pm in the Love Auditorium of the Levine Sciences Research Center, and we are opening that to the public as well… the broad topic of that lecture is “What does government do well/what does it do poorly?”

If you are in the area, come and join us for one or both of these talks.

About Don Taylor
Professor of Public Policy at Duke University (with appointments in Business, Nursing, Community and Family Medicine, and the Duke Clinical Research Institute). I am one of the founding faculty of the Margolis Center for Health Policy, and currently serve as Chair of Duke's University Priorities Committee (UPC). My research focuses on improving care for persons who are dying, and I am co-PI of a CMMI award in Community Based Palliative Care. I teach both undergrads and grad students at Duke. On twitter @donaldhtaylorjr

Leave a Reply

