Cool new class for Fall 2013–The Future of Medicaid in N.C.

I am teaching a new practicum course in the Fall in the Duke Sanford School of Public Policy for Masters students called N.C. Medicaid and The Affordable Care Act. So far, 13 students–all of whom I have taught health policy and who have previous work experience in health care and who are doing Summer health policy internships–will be working together in teams to consider the future of Medicaid in North Carolina and to propose a plan for its long term reform.

The class will pose three questions to students:

  • Should North Carolina undertake the expansion of Medicaid that is authorized by the ACA?
  • What types of reforms are needed in the current Medicaid program?
  • What role should Medicaid play in the future health care system in North Carolina?

The exciting part about the course is that it will be action oriented as opposed to me simply talking; the students will work in teams to work through these questions and the end product of the class is meant to be a comprehensive plan outlining their preferred strategy for moving North Carolina’s Medicaid program ahead. I certainly have many ideas, but this is not a scripted event where they restate all the things that I think. We will meet together as a work group that is engaged in a vital project, with the goal of producing a report that could actually be useful to the ongoing debate about the future of Medicaid in North Carolina. This is a nontraditional course, and I appreciate the willingness of School of Public Policy at Duke to allow me to try out this new course and format. Stay tuned.

I will blog lots more about this class in the coming weeks.

About Don Taylor
Professor of Public Policy at Duke University (with appointments in Business, Nursing, Community and Family Medicine, and the Duke Clinical Research Institute). I am one of the founding faculty of the Margolis Center for Health Policy, and currently serve as Chair of Duke's University Priorities Committee (UPC). My research focuses on improving care for persons who are dying, and I am co-PI of a CMMI award in Community Based Palliative Care. I teach both undergrads and grad students at Duke. On twitter @donaldhtaylorjr

7 Responses to Cool new class for Fall 2013–The Future of Medicaid in N.C.

  1. kemanuel says:

    I am a NC Medicaid attorney in Raleigh. My practice concentrates 100% on NC Medicaid and defending health care providers who accept Medicaid. I’m happy to talk to you about your classes. I may have some god material for you. http://www.ncmedicaidlaw@wordpress.com

  2. adam says:

    Hello there, I discovered your web site by way of Google even as searching for a similar subject, your web site got here up, it appears to be like great. I’ve bookmarked it in my google bookmarks.

  3. This practicum course will surely help in determining the future of Medicaid in North Carolina. The good thing about this course is that it’s interactive and encouraging students to come up with a report that will be beneficial to the debate and arguments regarding the status of Medicaid in the said state. I hope this course will be successful and will be of great help to the NC healthcare system.

  4. Pingback: Future of Medicaid Class: Charge & Questions | freeforall

  5. Pingback: New Class: Future of Medicaid in North Carolina: Charge & Questions « The Reality-Based Community

  6. Pingback: Duke/UNC student proposal on Medicaid | freeforall

Leave a Reply

