Catch up

I have been absent from blogging for a bit due to being in Washington DC all last week teaching a course for the Duke Fuqua School of Business, and the fact that my mother in law who moved in with us last Summer has had a series of health crises while I was gone that escalated since I returned. We are in the process of transitioning her (possibly) to short term rehab and then to an assisted living facility on short notice. I have many thoughts about LTC policy bubbling up while living through this (trying to ascertain how/whether quality differences correlate with price, etc.) that I will write about later.

For now, let me just say that my wife is a nurse, her brother is a physician and I am supposed to be some sort of health policy/LTC expert and it is very difficult to navigate all of this even with lots of human capital and resources brought to bear on the situation. As the Baby Boomers move toward retirement, we desperately need some attention paid to LTC.

About Don Taylor
Professor of Public Policy at Duke University (with appointments in Business, Nursing, Community and Family Medicine, and the Duke Clinical Research Institute). I am one of the founding faculty of the Margolis Center for Health Policy, and currently serve as Chair of Duke's University Priorities Committee (UPC). My research focuses on improving care for persons who are dying, and I am co-PI of a CMMI award in Community Based Palliative Care. I teach both undergrads and grad students at Duke. On twitter @donaldhtaylorjr

One Response to Catch up

  1. Marc says:

    As I told you over lunch today, I’m sorry you and your family have to deal with this. If there is anything Janet and I can do to help, please let us know.

Leave a Reply

