The counterfactual in long term care

I was looking at assisted living facilities for my grandmother yesterday and then beginning to navigate the ongoing family discussion about what is best for her (age 89; she still lives alone but has been hospitalized 5 times in recent months) and my mother (age 70), who is increasingly feeling unable to navigate the current situation. There are of course many other people involved: my sister (who lives near both my grandmother and my mother), my step dad, and my uncle who lives about 50 miles from my grandmother. I have become “expert” at assessing such facilities, and have devoted a great deal of my finite creativity over the past 18 months to navigating complicated family long term care situations. I put expert in quotes, because for all that I know about long term care, mixed now with personal experience, it is a truly difficult decision to decide what is best. In large part, this is because there are so many people involved and affected, along with the existence of many sources of uncertainty.

One thing has become clear

  • most people reflexively compare the (truly) high cost of something like assisted living to a cost of zero. “Oh my goodness, that is expensive!” is a correct statement, but it wrongly implies that the default, or current arrangement has a cost of zero.

The costs of the current living/long term care arrangement for my grandmother or anyone else can be difficult to estimate

  • explicit costs such as paying for walkers, home modifications and paying helpers is straightforward
  • implicit costs to caregivers are harder to estimate: the value of time, missed work, worry/anxiety/depression, feeling like you cannot travel, other health impacts, etc.

There are benefits of caregiving, such as connection with loved ones and of course the preferences of my grandmother are important. All of the costs and benefits must be netted out to make a decision. As with the societal level decision of what to do about long term care, having straight the counterfactual is the first step to making the best decision you can.

About Don Taylor
Associate Professor of Public Policy at Duke University and author of Balancing the Budget is a Progressive Priority. On twitter @donaldhtaylorjr

One Response to The counterfactual in long term care

  1. Powell Wood says:

    This may seem hard for you to handle. Long term care insurance costs quite expensive for a lot of families. But if you consider the expenses you might incur if you have a long term care event, it’s still much better to have coverage than none at all.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 158 other followers

