RIP Neil Williams

Neil Williams, Chair of the Board of Trustees of The Duke Endowment died unexpectedly on Sunday Aug. 26, 2012. A memorial service will be held on Thursday Aug. 30 at 11am in Atlanta.

I met and interacted with Mr. Williams in my former role as Director of the Benjamin N. Duke Scholarship, a program that focuses on getting the best and brightest future leaders from North and South Carolina to attend Duke. Mr. Williams grew up in Charlotte and was a Duke grad, so he had great interest and insight into our recruitment goals and challenges as well as our efforts to encourage young leaders. What I most appreciated about Mr. Williams was his direct and frank manner, delivered from a countenance of his love of Duke.

About Don Taylor
Professor of Public Policy (with appointments in Business, Nursing, Community and Family Medicine, and the Duke Clinical Research Institute), and Chair of the Academic Council at Duke University https://academiccouncil.duke.edu/ . I am one of the founding faculty of the Margolis Center for Health Policy. My research focuses on improving care for persons who are dying, and I am co-PI of a CMMI award in Community Based Palliative Care. I teach both undergrads and grad students at Duke. On twitter @donaldhtaylorjr

Leave a comment